College

It’s Always Sunny in Springfield

Here it is, Senior year! (class of 2018 waddup!) I’ve been looking forward to this since the first day I stepped on campus and now that it’s here, I can’t believe it!

DSC08523

My college experience has been nothing short of amazing. I’ve found incredible friendships, I’ve immersed myself in the Springfield community and my faith has grown in leaps and bounds. Most importantly college helped me find myself.

DSC08363

 

I started college with a five-year plan, I had goals (I still do lol) and I knew exactly what I wanted to do. Needless to say, I scrapped that plan a long time ago and my future has been pretty hazy more times than I can remember. I’ve learned to focus on the now because things will fly by in a heartbeat and I don’t to miss those special moments. Trevor Noah puts it better than I ever could in his book Born a Crime.

“I don’t regret anything I’ve ever done in life, any choice that I’ve made. But I’m consumed with regret for the things I didn’t do, the choices I didn’t make, the things I didn’t say. We spend so much time being afraid of failure, afraid of rejection. But regret is the thing we should fear most. Failure is an answer. Rejection is an answer. Regret is an eternal question you will never have the answer to. “What if…” “If only…” “I wonder what would have…” You will never, never know, and it will haunt you for the rest of your days.”
― Trevor NoahBorn a Crime: Stories From a South African Childhood

dsc08356.jpg

I’ve discovered a love of research and found new ways to do the things I love. I’m also fully invested in leaving behind a legacy at the place I’ve called home for the past four years. I’m nervous for what comes next but at the same time, I’m eagerly awaiting it. Here’s to being two semesters away from adulting. In the mean time, I’m taking advantage of all Springfield has to offer like this gorgeous sunflower field!

DSC08374

So here’s to graduating college(yikes!) with no regrets, I’m choosing to open myself up to all the experiences that come my way!

Can we talk about these pictures before we leave, come through sunflowers, come through #blackgirlmagic!!!

Unapologetically,

Marie

Leave a comment