A Day in the Life

A Weekend at the Capitol

Inspired by the endless stream of summer getaways on my Instagram timeline and the urge to be with some of my best girls again, we decided to take a trip to the nation’s capital to see one of Nigeria’s best talent, Wizkid in concert. Group chats were made weeks in advance, I even made a Pinterest board dedicated to exploring the city even before buying my ticket to the show or figuring out where we were going to stay. Miraculously, decisions were made, locations books and the excitement was bubbling. I was ecstatic to explore Washington, D.C. with some of my favorite people in the world.

I left for D.C early on Friday afternoon dreading the four-hour bus ride (shoutout to Greyhound for always getting me to where I need to be). Thankfully I have the unnatural ability to fall asleep in uncomfortable places so my trip flew by. I got to the hotel in Arlington a few hours later and met up with a friend who had an internship in D.C. for the summer. Together we walked around the city in search of food, of course. After making a quick Chipotle stop, we took the metro down to the George Washington University campus where my friend showed me around his home for the past few weeks. In true Marie fashion, I was so enraptured with everything I was seeing that I forgot to take any pictures. Luckily for you, I took some artsy pictures of my room before the hurricane of clothes and makeup.

IMG_0512
The Rennaissance Hotel in Arlington

The next day, after everyone had arrived we took the Metro to Downtown D.C. on a mission. We were going to find a Nando’s (because none of us had eaten there in years), go sight seeing and take lots of pictures while we were at it. By the end of the day, only two of those things ended up happening. We successfully navigated our way through the metro system and onto a bus that would take us to 18th street. The sky was getting a little dark but we all assumed it wouldn’t rain until much later that day. We were walking down 18th street, not care in the world when literally a block away from Nando’s rain came pouring out of the sky with no warning. I instantly booked it to the nearest shelter (p.s D.C, you need more sidewalk cover, it’s rough out there for pedestrians), fearing for my hair and makeup. I could hear the girls running close behind me. So there we were, huddled in the doorway of some random store while it rained cats and dogs. I could almost smell the Peri-peri chicken barely a block away. After taking cover for almost 20 minutes we decided that the next time it looked like the downpour was easing we would make a run for it, hair and makeup be damned! So that’s exactly what we did and I’ll tell you that the chicken was more that worth it! Just look at that if you don’t believe me.

IMG_0514
Literally the best meal I had all weekend!!!

After filling up on chicken we decided we were too stuffed and too hot to go exploring so we headed back to the hotel to nap. Later that night we hit the town again, taking in all D.C. had to offer. It was surreal how empty the streets got at night. I was so used to the hustle and bustle of NY, NJ and even little Springfield, Ohio that I was expecting the streets to be crawling with people 24/7. That night ended in a blur if I’m being honest. I remember laughing so much my stomach hurt and feeling surrounded by love. The next day was the Wizkid concert and we decided to sleep in and spend the day getting ready. Four girls getting dressed, doing their hair and putting on makeup is no joke let me tell you but boy was it a lot of fun. That’s exactly what I’ve missed about being away from my girlfriends all summer. After primping and pruning for a couple of hours we headed out, ready to vibe with Wizzy boy. The concert was just as fun as you can expect. Wizkid put on an amazing show and his opening acts weren’t half bad either. We definitely found some new artists to follow. At the end of the night with our feet hurting and ears ringing from the ridiculous bass, we carried ourselves home mentally preparing ourselves to go our separate ways the next day.

IMG_0531
The girlsss

Needless to say, Washington D.C. is now one of my favorite places and I cannot wait to go back. The journey home for me was bittersweet, I was happy to have spent an amazing weekend with my girls but I was already missing the time we had spent together and planning our next vacation. Time really does fly when you’re having fun! Although my weekend away wasn’t packed with hanging out at the Lincoln Memorial all day or museum hopping like my Pinterest board had told me were “must-dos” when in D.C., it was filled with impromptu ice cream stops, endless laughs and irreplaceable memories with some of my favorite people on the planet.

I hope you enjoyed my first attempt at documenting my travel experiences, I can’t promise they will get better but I can say that there will be more to come!

Unapologetically,

Marie

Leave a Reply

